Cybersecurity was at the heart of the last night’s TechWorks’ Awards. The awards celebrate the year’s key electronics innovations, people and companies from across the UK and Ireland.

People and organisations working in the cyber security sector took home five of the thirteen prizes, including the big three awards: Company of the Year (Secure Thingz), Contribution to Industry (Professor Paul Dorey, CSO Confidential), and Product of the Year (Darktrace’s Enterprise Immune System). 
This adds to the two dedicated cybersecurity categories: IoT Security Champion (won by Signify) and Cyber Student of the Year in Automotive (won by Angela Mison of the University of South Wales).
IoT Security Foundation MD, John Moor, said: “Modern economies are becoming increasingly digital, with connectivity and software fueling innovations that lead to more productive, richer and prosperous living. However, as new technology is introduced, there is also a threat that the technology can be used for mal-intent in the wrong hands. So, it is absolutely right that we place special emphasis on security as we head into the digital transformation. I’m therefore delighted that five of thirteen TechWorks awards, including all of the big three, went to companies and people leading best practice in cybersecurity.”
The full list of winners is:

Company of the Year Award – Secure Thingz

Contribution to Industry Award – Professor Paul Dorey, CSO Confidential

Product of the Year Award – Darktrade, Enterprise Immune System

Disruptive Innovation Award – Nanusens

Emerging Technology Company of the Year Award – Nanusens

Automotive Electronics Innovation & Excellence Award – Blu Wireless

IoT Security Foundation Champion Award – Signify


Manufacturing Site of the Year Award – Diodes Inc (Oldham site)

Manufacturing Supplier of the Year Award (based on industry survey) – Compugraphics International

R&D Excellence Award – Compound Semiconductor Applications Catapult


Young Engineer of the Year award – Gethn Pickard, Plessey Semiconductors

Cyber Student of the Year in Automotive Award – Angela Mison, University of South Wales

UKESF Scholar of the Year Award –  Hugo McNally, University of Southampton/On Semiconductors, Mary Bennett, University of Surrey/Embecosm


For more information on TechWorks, click here